CHEEZY KALE CHIPS

I have tried to make kale chips before with no success (I never had a recipe – just put the kale in the dehydrator and got …. dehydrated kale!)  Then I met Bebe at the raw food meetup on Friday, and she shared her recipe with me.  This recipe is just what I have been looking for!

Here is my version:

CHEESY KALE CHIPS

3 bun. curly leaf kale
1 C raw cashews, soaked
1 lg tomato, deseeded
juice of 1 lg lemon
1/3 C nutritional yeast
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Tear kale leaves into bite-sized pieces, and set aside.
In a food processor, process cashews and lemon juice to a hummus consistency paste
Add all remaining ingredients except kale. Process smooth.
Place kale pieces and 1/2 cashew mixture in a large bowl,
Massage cashew mixture into kale pieces, massaging each leaf individually.. When cashew mixture runs thin, add the remaining 1/2 of the mix.
Place kale pieces one by one on Teflex covered dehydrator trays, and dehydrate at 110 degrees for 2 hrs..
Remove trays from dehydrator and transfer chips from teflex sheets mesh covered dehydrator trays (easy way: Place a mesh sheet over the dehydrator tray with the chips.  Cover the mesh sheet with another dehydrator tray.  Flip the assembly and then remove the first dehydrator tray, and the teflex sheet.)
Dehydrate for 5-6 hours more, until crunchy.

The kale and cashews I have are  spoken for (dinner tomorrow night and then leftovers dehydrated patties for Wednesday’s dinner), so I will take a trip up to Fairway to pick up enough kale and cashews to make a double recipe of chips (I know they will be that good)