AMBROSIA!!!

My grandmom used to make ambrosia for holidays. It may be a Southern thing (i.e., I haven’t seen ambrosia mentioned anywhere). I thought about it a couple of times, but never tried to make it. Then, for some reason, I asked my mom how Grandmom used to make it. She told me about the oranges and coconut, but then came the idea-killer: sugar. I put the idea back on the shelf.

Recently, I have come into a lot of oranges, not intentionally – someone sent them to me. There are only so many oranges you can eat, really. So I started to think about ambrosia again…..

On my last trip to Trader Joe’s, I saw a little bottle of stevia. I’ve never tried to use stevia, but I got a bottle. Yesterday, I had tried to make ambrosia once more, just peeling the oranges and separating the little parts, and then throwing dehydrated coconut pieces (again, from Trader Joe’s). It did not at all excite me. This afternoon, I went back, cut up the orange parts, ground up the dehydrated coconut, and sprinkled a little stevia on the whole thing and mixed it up. Whoa! Ambrosia pretty much like I remember Grandmom’s ambrosia. Uh oh!

Now, what can I do with ambrosia? Tomorrow, I’ll try mixing it in with some cashew yogurt I made. I may throw in some dried blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, or strawberries (I’ve become addicted to these dried fruits that are actually quite reasonable at Trader Joe’s. (Oops! please notice that I am not an affiliate of Trader Joe’s – it is just a very convenient store to where I live in New York City, and the prices are better than the other nearby supermarkets)

Back to the ambrosia – I am going to go to bed early tonight so that my ambrosia/yogurt experience will come earlier.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.