INTRO TO REJUVELAC, with one recipe

REJUVELAC

Rejuvelac, said to be the accidental discovery of Ann Wigmore, is a very good, easy way to add enzymes, friendly bacteria, vitamins and minerals to the diet.

Rejuvelac is a beverage made by fermenting wheat sprouts in water over a 2-3 day period.  Many grains can be used to create Rejuvelac, however soft white wheatberries produce the best results and, also, the best taste.

METHOD:
1 C wheatberries

•    Soak 1 C wheatberries for 8-10 hours, then drain and rinse, and drain again thoroughly.
•    Sprout wheat for 3 days, rinsing 3 – 4 times daily.
•    Grind the sprouted wheat for about 10 seconds in a high speed blender (some people do not grind the wheat, but I find it easier to ferment the Rejuvelac when the sprouts are chopped).
•    Put the sprout pulp in a half-gallon jar, and fill the jar to the top with spring water..
•    Cover the mouth of the jar with cheesecloth held on with a rubberband.
•    Let the jar sit, at room temperature, for 3 days, stirring 3 – 5 times daily.
•    The finished Rejuvelac should taste a bit tart like lemonade,  It should not taste sour. Ferment to taste, tart not sour.

VARIATIONS:
Raisins, dates, figs, or other fruit, as well as spices, such as mulling spices, can be added to vary the flavor, making it taste more like wine.

Even if, at first, you find the taste unusual, stick with it.  Rejuvelac will grow on you, and your health will improve.

5 responses to “INTRO TO REJUVELAC, with one recipe

  1. I just finished making some rejuvelac today. I’m not sure what it’s supposed to taste like. I can only hope that it is alright. I followed Ann Wigmore’s instructions step by step.

  2. Hi Tuliza:
    That’s an interesting question. I have heard the taste of rejuvelac described as a tangy lemonade. That comes pretty close to what I think. When I first started making it, I never thought about what it tasted like… I sort of just drank it because it sounded like a good idea.
    Over time, people have added fresh fruit (I have tasted mango rejuvelac — you would add mango slices in after you have started the rejuvelac, i.e, you have put water with the ground sprouted wheat berries — and I often make “rejuvelac wine” — see my rejuvelac recipes, and, occasionally, I make “rejuvelac champagne”)

  3. Pingback: Attack of the Rejuvelac! | MyRawYear.com

  4. Okay. I love Rejuvelac. When I first started making it two years ago I would drink it straight and use it as the liquid for my green drink. Everything was going great and the all of a sudden every single batch I made would go bad while fermenting. I know what it tastes and smells like and this was definitely bad. I’ve tried shorter times with the same result. And so I have not had Rejuvelac for over 1 1/2 years. I get mad and depressed when I try to make a batch and it smells and tastes rotten. I follow the simple recipe, but every single batch now turns out bad. I am in Arizona where it is hot but that doesn ot explain why I was so successful early on. Can anyone assist me in troubleshooting my problem?

  5. Pingback: MASTER CLEANSER: DAY 4 and Counting « PRETTY SMART RAW FOOD IDEAS

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.