WHAT TO DO WITH ZUCCHINI

I love zucchini! Don’t get me wrong! There is, however, a limit to how many times I can eat zucchini pasta in a 7 day period, and how many zucchinis I can put in green smoothies. Hence, I felt it necessary to explore new things to do with zucchini.

Here is a recipe for beanless zucchini based on something I found in Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen, by Ani Phyo.

BEAN-LESS ZUCCHINI-KALAMATA OLIVE HUMMUS
1/4 C sunflower seeds, soaked 6 hours
1 C zucchini, chopped
2 cloves garlic
juice of 1/4 lemon
1/8 C olive oil
1/4 C tahini
1/8 C kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
generous sprinkle cayenne pepper

Process all ingredients in a food processor until smooth hummus consistency.

This turned out pretty good. (I am not crazy about lemon, so I may eliminate it, or else only put a teaspoonful in next time)
It is a good dip for vegetables and it works well on my crackers, also.

I am imagining including red bell pepper the next time I make it.

I am also picturing how to dehydrate this if I  don’t  finish it in 2 or  3 days.

One response to “WHAT TO DO WITH ZUCCHINI

  1. Wish I had a recipe to give you. I once had a neighbor who was buried in her own fresh tomatoes and zucchini every summer (lucky me!) She used to make a wonderful baked casserole with sliced zucchini, tomatoes, bacon, and cheese. Maybe you can recreate something similar.

Leave a Reply

