11/21/13 SHARE: What they said and what we got and what I’ll do with it

This is what we got, and what I took home (red is what we didn’t get, or what I traded. Green is what I went home with).

Savoy Cabbage – 1 head Got hd regular cabbage
Bok Choi – 1 piece Got 6 rutabagas
Toscano Kale – 1 bunch  
Watermelon Radish – 2.5 lb. Got 1 hd cabbage
Russet Potatoes – 1 quart Traded for 1 hd cabbage
Carrots – 1 bunch  
Broccoli – 2 heads Traded for 1 hd cabbage
Mache – .25 lb bag Got 1 bun. leeks
Additional Item – Lettuce or Radicchio Got 1 hd cauliflower

I ended up going home with 4 fairly large heads of cabbage, 6 medium-size rutabagas, 1 bunch of kale, 1 good bunch of carrots, and a medium-size head of cauliflower.

This was also the week for cranberries, so I got 5 lbs of fresh cranberries.

With all this wonderful cabbage, I know I am going to start some sauerkraut tomorrow night.

I’m going to a friend’s house on Wednesday afternoon and we are going to make some Thanksgiving foods because she is invited to someone’s Thanksgiving and needs to bring along something.  I’ll take her one of the jars of sauerkraut because she is a good friend.  I will also take along maybe 4 C of the cranberries, so we can make a raw cranberry sauce for her to take with her on Thanksgiving. I’ll also teach her to make marinated massaged kale or collards (whichever she buys)

Leave a Reply

