7/25/13 CSA : WHAT WE GOT AND WHAT I WILL DO

POST #961
This is what we got, what I took away (traded for), and what I am doing with it.

Swiss Chard – 1 bun
Red Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd      traded for basil
Green Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd  traded for 2 sm hds of cabbage
Green Cabbage – 2 small hds
Cucumbers – 3 pcs
Baby Red Potatoes – 1 qt            traded for more cucumbers
Garlic – 1 small head
Basil – 1 bunch
Onion – 1 pc

What I’m going to do:
Cabbage: sauerkraut here I come!   I think I’ll make a little coleslaw, too – that’s such a good Southern summer dish.
Swiss Chard: I’m going to dehydrate it
Cucumber and Onions: one of my favorite summer salads that my grandmother made.
Garlic – well, hey! Just go imagine! I mean, sometimes, I think my middle name is garlic!
Basil: not real sure what I’ll do with it, but I still have about a day to think about it. If I can’t use it up by then, I’ll dehydrate it.

Any way you look at it, this is a good haul, this week. I’m quite pleased to have so much food.

Leave a Reply

