MY NEW CHEEZES AND THEIR SUCCESS AT THE MEET-UP

Tonight’s Fermenters’ Meetup was for fermented nut or seed cheezes.
I made a basic 48-hour-fermented jalapeno/garlic cashew cheeze recipe, coated 1 round with dried dillweed, and mixed cured kalamata olives into the other round (which stopped being a round, and had to travel in a pot.  I thin-sliced two small kohlrabis, shook some black pepper over them, and took them along, as well, so people could make impromptu ravioli, or just have a raw place to hold their cheeze.

Why am I feeling so proud? They scarfed up all of my cheeze (there, I had been thinking I would have at least half as leftovers to use this week!) Then, when we gathered to talk about what we had eaten, my cheezes were the most-often mentioned!
I have been making raw vegan cheeze for a number of years now, but this is the first time that my cheezes were up against other people’s cheezes and were being tasted by people who make raw vegan cheezes.

CASHEW CHEEZE BASE
3 C raw cashews, soaked @8 hrs
1/4 C water
2 capsules New Chapter All Flora probiotics
½ t sea salt

  • Process cashews through a Champion juicer with the blank plate (alternatively, if you have neither a Champion juicer nor a high speed blender, you can grind dry cashews in a coffee grinder – I often use my Magic Bullet grinder blade to reduce nuts and seeds to a fine powder. If you happen to have high speed blender, place all ingredients in the high speed blender and process to a fine paste)
  • Dissolve probiotics in 1/4  C water
  • Process cashew paste, salt,water, and probiotics and process in a food processor to mix thoroughly.
  • Line a colander (placed over a bowl) with cheesecloth, and place cheeze in the colander. Fold the cheesecloth over the cheeze, and leave to ferment for 24-48 hrs (longer is tangier).
  • Place cheeze in a tightly-lidded container and refrigerate for up to 3 weeks.

After I fermented, I ground up 6 garlic cloves and one fairly large jalapeno, then placed all in my food processor to mix well.
Then I folded cheesecloth In the bottom of two containers (I could have used baking parchment, but I had none), placed a round ring form on top of the cheesecloth, and spooned the cheeze into the ring forms, in  hopes that I would get sturdy rounds of cheeze, covered the containers with airtight covers, and put them in the refrigerator for 3 days. It turned out that the rounds did not hold together very well.
I took one, placed it in a container and mixed in about 10 finely chopped oil-cured kalamata olives.  Handling the other very carefully, I sprinkled a lot of dried dillweed all over, top, sides, bottom, and patted it in, then patted the round back into shape and put it in a container.  These were the cheezes I took to the meetup.

I think  I liked the dill-coated one best, although the olive one was very good, and was the most-commented-on.  Folks also liked the kick of the garlic and jalapeno base (as did I).  I have a new staple.

Leave a Reply

