06/20/13 CSA SHARE: What we got and what I think I will do with it

POST #951
Here is what we got this week:
Cilantro – 1 bunch
Escarole – 1 head
Purple Kohlrabi – 1 bunch
Romaine Lettuce – 1 head
Scallions – 1 bunch
Baby Arugula – 1 bag
Red Beets – 1 bunch 

We also got a head of lettuce (from what I saw in the trade box, most people traded the lettuce or even just gave it away – I think my CSA partners are getting tired of lettuce right about now).

I traded my lettuce for another bunch of cilantro.

I brought home the cilantro, escarole, kohlrabi, romaine, scallions, arugula, and beets.

I have never seen purple kohlrabi, and I have never seen kohlrabi this small.  It is actually about the size of real ravioli – I will probably have some kohlrabi/mushroom/jalapeno cheese ravioli this week. There are small wilted leaves — if I put them in the dehydrator tonight, I can add them to the super-green powder jar.

I tend to treat scallions like onions… I figure I’ll save back an inch or two of a few of them to re-grow…

I’m looking forward to a beet salad this week.

If I can’t get to all of the greens (beet, escarole, arugula, romaine ) this week, they will go into the dehydrator for super-green powder.

Leave a Reply

