BRINGING FOOD TO MOM FOR A CHANGE

POST #845
I made it down to the Outer Banks of North Carolina with almost everything I had left with (I ended up sleeping through almost the entire trip and only ate a few of the crackers I had with me). Even the kale chips made it.
So, yesterday afternoon, after we had gotten settled and were recouping from the long drive, just sitting around talking over a glass of wine, I dragged out the fermented kohlrabi, the fermented carrot sticks, and the kale chips. At first, my parents were wary, yet my Mom, being a good Mom, was willing to try the kohlrabi and carrots. Then she wanted more. Then she wanted my Dad to try them. Then he wanted more. Then I showed her the kale chips, she tried them, and she wanted more. I always take “voluntary wanting more” as a good sign. My little pride sign lit up (it’s always nice when your Mom thinks you have done something well). Today, when my Dad and I got back from church, I found that Mom had made salads and chopped liberal amounts of the kohlrabi and carrots into the salad. Ding!Ding!Ding! Mom always makes a good salad, but, with the fermented vegetables, and a dose of the fermented salsa as a dressing.. the salad was a super-hit, even with me (remember me? the raw vegan who doesn’t like salads?)

Leave a Reply

