9/27/12 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

POST #820
Last week was a case of “the best laid plans” gone awry.  I had the scheme all set and ready to go, but then I got the chance to work 4 extra hours, and I had had had to do it. I landed into the CSA distribution site at a few minutes to 7.  Nothing to speak of in the trade box.

Perhaps making this kind of plan is good for my pocketbook.  Hence, I’m scheming again.   I’d like to get to the distribution site at @4pm, sit around (or else help unload the truck), until they are ready for pick-up. Then I’ll go straight for the trade box (if they haven’t set it up, I’ll ask them to do so and stand patiently and wait and guard the spot until they do do so.

Here is what they say we will get:
Acorn or Spaghetti Squash – 1-3 pcs
Green Beans – .5lb
Red Tomatoes – 2 beefsteak
Red or Green Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd
Carrots – 1 bun
Shallots – 2 pcs
Baby Arugula – 1 bag

We all know what will happen to the lettuce if I’m lucky, right? Adios Lettuce, hello tomatoes! If I get so lucky then the arugula will go for the green beans.

If I can get those tomatoes and green beans, then I’ll be able to make some more fermented garlic dill beans, and if I get the extra tomatoes, I’ll be able to make some nice red fermented salsa.

Or else, perhaps I will get lucky another way and have work all afternoon and have to take home whatever is in the box.

It’s all good, right?

Leave a Reply

