9/14/12 CSA SHARE: What we got and what I took home

POST #808
What we actually got and what I took home:

Spaghetti Squash – 1 pc…traded for dumpling squash
Green Beans – 1 lb
Leeks – 1 bun
Broccoli – 1 hd
Fingerling potatoes ……traded for 3 big tomatoes
Red Tomatoes – 4 med
Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd

Once again, I couldn’t beat the super-cadger – this older fellow always seems to get there before anyone else (I can’t really complain, because people probably say the same thing about me), and raids the trade box before I can.  Fortunately, he didn’t want the tomatoes, but he did get the green beans before I could.

I have these big leeks.  I don’t normally eat leeks – I’ve tried, but they’re just not me.  Still, I saw a recipe for fermented leeks somewhere, and I’m going to try to find it again, and try it out.

This week, I will probably eat cream of broccoli soup, made with cashews.  I’m not sure about the squash yet – maybe a squash soup with cashews and Thai green curry paste, or maybe a pasta.

I guess I’ll be eating a salad or two, as well.

Leave a Reply

