YOU CAN’T GET THAT HERE (at least not on every street corner, for sure)

POST #805
Living in New York City is very exciting, for sure! If you come here as a tourist, you can find all sorts of things that they don’t have back home, I’m sure (although, I’m sure, if you’re looking to dis us, you’ll find a lot of the same stores you have back home, too).

What we don’t have here is things that you take for granted. This evening, I went out to get some pickling spice, only to find that two local supermarkets don’t carry such a thing, although they have all sorts of exotic Spanish and Arabic spices. Neither could I find dill seed. (I’m going to leave home 2 hours early so I can go to the one supermarket that I think might carry pickling spice, and dill seed, and I am also going to carry a recipe for pickling spice, just in case even they do not have pickling spice. These green beans will not last forever while I search the world for pickling spice so I can make the recipe I want to try. Just in case, I have an alternate recipe that I have invented in my head, which should turn out okay – hope hope)

Leave a Reply

