YOU CAN ONLY USE THE MASON JAR LIDS ONCE! DID YOU KNOW THAT?

POST #804
I guess I am incredibly lucky, ferment-wise.  I never knew, until tonight, that you can only use the flat part of the Ball jar lids once.  I started reading about re-usable lids, and then I found myself on the Ball jar website and learned that you can only use that flat part of the lid once.  Hmn!  I’ve dutifully scrubbed mine and re-used them multiple times.  Now, tonight, as I’m getting ready to make a couple of batches of ferments, I found out I need to get more canning lids.  Fortunately, I do know that you can ferment with a plastic storage lid, and I have quite a few of those (I learned this when I started fermenting, and I used any glass jar I had available, with the top that came along with it).  So, as of today, I’m not going to re-use those lids. I have an order in at Amazon for a 12-pack of Reusable Wide Mouth Canning Lids & Rubber Rings .  — we’ll see how those work out. 

Leave a Reply

