CSA SHARE 6/7/12

I had to miss the first CSA share last week (I actually had some work), so this will be my first CSA share of the year. (although I missed the distribution, I know that the unclaimed shares go to the local food pantry– which, unfortunately, I am not eligible for, even though I am mostly dead broke, so, some lucky people who know how to manipulate better than I do will have gotten some very nice vegetables– did you hear the bitterness? yes, I know that some people makke a lot more money than I do but seriously manipulate the system, but I am out of the loop or in the wrong ethnic group– do not cry out! I have taught English to foreigners for the past 21 years, and they proudly tell me what they do ).

Anyway, never mind owing to the kindness of my CSA, in allowing me to pay late and in pieces, here is what I will get tomorrow (or, anyway, what they say we will get)

Baby Arugula – 1 bag
Romaine Lettuce – 1 head
Boston Lettuce – 1 head
Swiss Chard – 1 bunch
Garlic Scapes – 1 bunch
Collards -OR- Japanese Salad Turnips – 1 bunch

We’ll see. I need to go early, because I have not signed up for a volunteer date, so, if I don’t get work tomorrow afternoon, I will be there when they open up, and I will have a better chance at getting what I want (normally, there is a share box, which starts from one of the delivered boxes – we order extra boxes to have something to give to the food pantry –  so, if you get there early, and there is something in your box that you don’t want, and there is something in the share box that you do want, you can trade. I would like to get some more collards tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

