HOW TO OPEN A MATURE COCONUT – cool easy step by step process

POST 724
I’ve always opened coconuts by nailing the eyes, draining them, and then whacking them into bits, but this idea from RawMazing makes me feel that I have been living in the dark ages for all these years.  

If you have been reading my posts, you know I refuse to use young Thai coconuts for several reasons (1- they currently can’t be certified as organic, 2- they are not local, 3- I can’t afford them.  I know, I know, you are saying that it is all because I’m financially challenged, but… no… when I have $3.00 or more extra, I do go down to Chinatown and get the most-likely-non-organic “young” coconuts, drink the juice and then bring them home for the pulp, but, still, I am conscious of the carbon footprint, and, more than that, unwilling to pay a lot for healthy food.   Even if I had a lot of money, I don’t think I would want to use the fresh coconuts much. I would really rather have *more* food than *fancy* food.)

I am so so happy to see an easy way to get into a (reasonably priced) coconut and then make it into coconut milk.  I haven’t thought it out yet, but I imagine this will come out cheaper than buying frozen un-sweetened coconut in an Asian market would be. I am feeling hopeful right about now.

Leave a Reply

