I read cookbooks and nutrition books while I was fasting.  The cookbooks actually helped me forget about wanting food – they gave me ideas to explore after the fast ended.   The nutrition books were just more interesting information for my nutrition practice.

The cookbooks I read were Ani Phyo’s Ani’s Raw Food Asia: Easy East-West Fusion Recipes the Raw Food Way  and Matt Kenney’s Everyday Raw Express: Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less.

The thing I did not like about Ani Phyo’s Ani’s Raw Food Asia: Easy East-West Fusion Recipes the Raw Food Way was that so many of the recipes require young Thai coconut – okay, quite a few of the recipes that I would really like to make require young Thai coconut, and there are no substitutions suggested.

That said, there are still a lot of recipes I liked.  Phyo gives us a raw vegan recipe for gojijang and quite a few curries, as well as a number of other interesting sauces.   There is even a raw vegan recipe for a fair bulgogi approximation, as well as recipes for those little vegetable side dishes that they put on your table in Korean restaurants.  There are some interesting “instant pickle” recipes as well.

One thing that always makes Ani Phyo’s books a good read is that she includes her insights into what she considers necessary for a more natural raw vegan lifestyle.  She also often discusses the various ingredients she uses, and gives substitutes where she is aware of them.  Cooking with Ani Phyo is almost like cooking with a good friend.

While, originally, I thought that I could get away with copying just the recipes I like, it turns out that I do like so many of the recipes that I will need to make this my next book purchase.

Matt Kenney’s Everyday Raw Express: Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less
actually has a number of recipes which are similar to  ones in Ani Phyo’s book. Everyday Raw Express: Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less
promises that recipes only take 30 minutes, but that does not include the time for dehydrating ingredients for the recipes.

That said, Everyday Raw Express: Recipes in 30 Minutes or Less has quite a few interesting recipes, and it is certainly an interesting read (but, then, I read recipe books for entertainment when I am fasting.) Normally, I take inspiration from recipe books, although, from time to time, I do make the actual recipes. I’ve been inspired by several recipes so far, and I do not regret the money I spent on this book.

Leave a Reply

