ASTORIA CSA IS OPEN FOR THE NEW SEASON

Post #727
Spring is coming. They’ve opened the Astoria CSA to returning members.  I managed to eke out $100 for the initial deposit. With luck, I”ll be able to pay it off in the next two months.  I think I am only going to do the vegetable share (they’ve discontinued the garlic share, and I can shop for food if I want some). I’d love to do everything, but I’m in financial straits, yet I don’t qualify for help from the CSA, so, there you have it.  I know that the vegetable share is very important for me, because there have been times when I had no money for food and I had to come up with new recipes for what was in the vegetable share, in order to get it to last the week until I could get more money (I’m saying “new recipes” because juice is always an option, but it is way veggie intensive, so when I have no other source of vegetables, I have to come up with recipes which will make the veggies stretch)

Of course, I am looking forward to this coming season.  I am hoping to finish up my book of CSA-based raw recipes (I’ve lobbied for a CSA book of recipes (of any kind) for the 4 years the CSA has been going, but to no effect).

One response to “ASTORIA CSA IS OPEN FOR THE NEW SEASON

  1. Pingback: Raw.la - Raw Food in The News and Around The Web

Leave a Reply

