11/03/11 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

Post #704
Here is what they say we will get:

Broccoli – 2 pcs
Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd
Lettuce Mix -OR- Carrots – 1 bag/1 bun
Broccoli Raab -OR- Kohlrabi – 1 bun
Baby White Salad Turnips – 1 bun
Baby Bok Choi – 1 bun

As always, it is a crapshoot.  I get the idea that it is a crapshoot with the farmers, as well.  They, with all good intentions, plant things that have come out well in the past.  And then the weather and the powers that be conspire either for them or against them.  Again, this year, it has been rain rain rain.  Being on a very tight budget, that has caused some problems in my household (I seriously depend on what comes in the box).  The farmers have the money anyway, so I guess they can go and buy extra food (I am not complaining against them, mind you.  I still do get enough vegetables that I can eat, just not necessarily like the true queen that I am).

This will be our last fruit share.  More apples.  Okay, more apple sauce and apple juice.

I’m picking up late tomorrow (have some work! Yea!) so it will be interesting to see what the trade box looks like late in the evening.

Leave a Reply

