CHAMPION JUICER GREENS JUICING ATTACHMENT

Post #700

I visited the Champion Juicer website the other day, and discovered that Champion has now added a greens juicer attachment.  Now, owners of Champion juicers have the option to juice wheatgrass and leafy greens!

I was very excited … until I saw the caveat: the greens juicing attachment will only fit machines of certain serial number series –unfortunately, this attachment will not work on my lovely banana yellow vintage Champion juicer.

Previously, when I have needed parts, I’ve been told by Champion customer service that all attachments and replacements will fit on all Champion juicers, regardless of how old they are.  Knowing this, I wrote to Champion to ask if the part would fit my machine even though my serial number was not on the list.  Nope, they said.  It will not fit.

I’m disappointed. I’m also surprised. Why, if all of the other parts will work, won’t this one work? 

I have always admired Champion for its continuing support of all models of its juicers.  When I first acquired my Champion, a customer service representative actually told me that the basic motor assembly remains the same, while model names and parts may change (For example, I have a wooden pusher, while the newer models have a plastic pusher, which, although less esthetically pleasing, is probably more hygienic).  Why have they suddenly changed that?  

So, no Champion greens juicing attachment for me.  I am not going to buy a new juicer at this point (I need food, I need a winter coat, I need new shoes, I need a printer…..).  To Champion’s credit, my juicer has served me faithfully and still works like a charm after more than 30 years.  I’m just not enough of a consumer to need or want to replace what works fine.

Reducing carbon footprint: 1, new Champion greens juicer: 0

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

