I haven’t been around much lately — mega computer problems still plagbeue me, and financial issue make it hard to get things fixed.

I do want to tell you that, instead of green beans, last week, we got cranberry beans!  These are beans that must be shelled, but the work is worth it.  The year the CSA started up, we got cranberry beans. I had never, at least not in my memory, seen fresh beans of the kind you can sprout.  (green snap, or string, beans we snapped and strung sitting on Grandmomma’s back porch and goofing around– when I get those, I remember those days sitting with my sister and my cousins and snapping and stringing away)  Anyway, when I got the cranberry beans, I was very excited to see how it would work to sprout fresh beans (I ate one, but it was too starchy – even the fresh ones must be sprouted, I think).

I’ve just finished shelling all of the cranberry beans (yes, they lasted all week), and now I have a jar soaking– not sure that is necessary, but, hey! that’s what you do when you are sprouting, right?– and I’m looking forward to sprouts in a couple of days! Yippee!

This is what they say we will get in the box tomorrow.

Baby Arugula – 1 bag
Yukon Gold -OR- Red Flesh Potatoes – 1 bag
Green or Red Batavian Lettuce – 1 hd
Celery Root (Celeriac)- 2 pcs
Garlic – 2-4  pcs
Cranberry Beans -OR- Green Beans – 1 bag

We have had a lot of rain this summer, so the pickings are sparse. (I’ve been out of work again, so the refrigerator is on the empty end– how come these two things come up at the same time? Oh well)

I’ll be back tomorrow with some recipes. I know it. Celeriac is a challenge for me, so I have to figure out something.

Meanwhile, I’d like to ask you to please buy local, and, if you can’t manage that, please buy American. Our farmers need the support, and our workers need the support as well.

Leave a Reply

