JUICING OR BLENDING: What’s the difference

People sometimes ask me about the difference between juicing and blending.

When you juice vegetables or fruit, you get the vitamins, minerals, and other nutritional elements in a concentrated form.  That’s a good thing. (For example, you can drink 8 carrots easily and be happy about it- yumm!)

When you blend (ideally with a high-speed blender), you get all of the fiber from whatever you are blending, as well as all of the vitamins and minerals)

If you only have a blender (high-speed or not), then you, of course, will favor blending.  If you cannot, for some reason, chew up your food, then blended drinks would be a good way to get the whole food, including the fiber.

On the other hand, if you are fasting from solid food for whatever reason, or if you just want the vitamin/mineral value from the food, juicing would be the way to go.

Of course, you can mix and match, depending on what you are up to. For example, I really do like carrot juice, but I don’t like carrots in any other form, so I am not likely to put carrots into my blender.  When I got my VitaMix, at first I didn’t like it, because everything comes out with fiber (duh), but when I learned to put ice in, then I had cool smoothies and was willing to drink the stuff I had blended up.

Hope this helps.

 

Lots of people ask me what’s the difference between juicing and blending? Well, both are super excellent for you, but the main difference is that smoothies have fiber and juices do not. Since the fiber is removed in juices, the liquid nutrition can get into your cells much quicker and less energy is expended by your precious God pod. Nowadays, I juice more than I blend, but I still love my smoothies too. Do what works for you!

Leave a Reply

