YUMMY FAST FOOD MUSHROOM AVOCADO WRAPS TONIGHT

Yummy fast food tonight (well, the “fast” is relative – it didn’t take me more than 20 minutes to make).

I had wanted to get maitake, but I couldn’t find any, so I decided to try working with baby bella mushrooms (not the same, but they worked out)
I had some last-legs grape tomatoes, 1/2 a leftover avocado, and some sprouts (pea and sunflower).
I wanted finger food.

MUSHROOM/AVOCADO WRAPS
WRAPS
4 cabbage leaves
1 T olive oil
½ t sea salt
1 T nama shoyu

  • Mix oil, sea salt and nama shoyu and rub into cabbage leaves. Set aside to tenderize.

FILLING
8 baby-bella mushrooms, thinly sliced, then chopped finely
1 T nama shoyu
1 T olive oil
1 t garlic, finely minced
1/4 C tomato finely chopped
1/4 C onion, minced
1/4 avocado
Sprouts

  • Place mushrooms, nama shoyu, olive oil, and garlic in a bowl and massage. Set aside to marinate for 30 minutes, then rinse to remove marinade.
  • Squeeze mushroom mix as dry as possible.
  • Lay a cabbage leaf on cutting board, and spread avocado over half of the leaf.
  • Layer on onion, tomato, and mushroom mix.
  • Roll or fold leaf and eat.

Note: After I had made this, I felt it was too salty, so I sprinkled on some vinegar based hot sauce, which lightened up the saltiness. You may not experience this – I am a no-salt person, so any salt is very salty.

Leave a Reply

