WHY DO RAW FOOD VIDEOS EXCLUDE THE DEAF?

WHY ARE THERE SO FEW “HEARING-IMPAIRED FRIENDLY” RAW VIDEOS?
The deaf/hearing-impaired/visually-oriented community is also interested in raw living foods, however, with the development of easy-to-produce-and-distribute videos, there is much less raw food information

A friend recently shared with me that she doesn’t like the way the Internet is going. She was complaining about videos. I can understand that. If you cannot hear the videos, they are pretty much useless (I’ve tried, but it is really hard for me to lipread videos)

Most of the people who provide us with informational videos do not provide transcripts (I once asked one fellow who seemed to wish to posit himself as a “raw food guru” why he did not provide transcripts for the “hearing-impaired/deaf/visually-oriented” public – he fired back that he did not have time to do such a thing (no I am not going to mention his name – I am not into outing deafest people at this point)

I do feel that people who want to get their message out there should consider the hearing-impaired (I’m going to use this one term to include all the variations and politically-correct terms which might be out there) community.

Raw food information should not be only for the hearing. I urge raw food video producers to consider those of us who do not hear their videos to produce transcripts of their videos, so that we all can benefit from the information they wish to disseminate.

Leave a Reply

