7/15/10 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

Here is what the farm newsletter says we will get this week:

Zucchini – 5-7 pcs
Scallions – 1 bun
Swiss Chard – 1 bun
Corn- 4 pcs
Basil – 1 bun
Cucumber- 1 pc
Toscano Kale – 1 bun
Romaine lettuce – 1 bun
Broccoli – 3 pcs

The fruit share is up in the air.  It will be a happy surprise

I think that I will make zucchini chips this time – I’m a bit backed up on the zucchini.  I think I will make them with the kale chip sauce, and also I may try a new idea I have in mind.

I made kale chips with all the kale I got last time, and then I turned around and ate about 3 bunches worth of kale chips in 3 days.  (I figure that, with the cashew/red bell pepper/lemon coating, surely that must have been at least dinner).  I will probably use some of the kale this time to make kale/cashew stuffed tomatoes

4 ears of corn isn’t enough to do corn chips, so I will probably make my “mexican corn” (I eyeball the ingredient amounts)

  • Corn, removed from the cob
  • Red bell pepper, chopped fine
  • Onion, chopped fine
  • Lemon juice  to taste (yes, folks, you are seeing me include lemon juice in a “plate recipe — I do use lemon juice in cheezes and sometimes in crackers, and when I do the Master Cleanse, but no one will ever be able to accuse me of being a great friend of lemon juice)
  • black pepper to taste
  • sea salt to taste (I don’t use it, but you might)

I just combine everything, toss it, and serve.

Leave a Reply

