06/10/10 CSA SHARE: What we got

It was lettuce city, for sure, this week.

WHAT WE GOT:                                                 WHAT I TRADED FOR

Escarole

Red or Green Romaine Lettuce

Boston Green Lettuce

Baby Bok Choi

Swiss Chard                                                            turnips

Garlic Scapes

Japanese Salad Turnips

The fruit share was rhubarb and strawberries.

I doubt I have ever seen lettuce heads as large as the one we got (I have no clue what kind it was, but the thing took up one whole Chicos Bag!

I was kind of disappointed: This time, people seemed to know about garlic scapes, so they were taking theirs home (or else it could have been that the trade box only had lettuce and one bunch of turnips.

Just as I was getting ready to leave, someone traded in rhubarb, and, quick like a bunny, I traded some lettuce for it!  Yumm!


Leave a Reply

