10/20/09 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

I’ve been slicing cabbage for the past two hours! That 10 lb. cabbage?  Done for!  I filled two 2-qt. Mason jars with sliver-slices of cabbage.  One jar is to be standard sauerkraut, and the other has ancho pepper powder and garlic.  This is my first experiment with sauerkraut.  If it works, I will write the recipe here.

Back to work!I am very excited again! (I was on vacation last week, and my room-mate decided not to pick up  my share, so I have a sort-of empty refrigerator, and anything that comes in my box will be super special, as a result) I am always excited every week anyway, because the farm posts what they think they will put in our boxes, but… farms are farms, and everything ultimately depends on God.  I grew up around farms, and I think you can really really tune in to God when you are working on a farm.  (I have had an interesting experience this year, because I have been sending Reiki to the farm.  I told the farmers I would do it, and they were open to it… I looked for others to join me, but found none, so I just did it on my own. Interestingly, every time something terrible for farms was reported in the news, our farm managed to come through anyway. Even with the tomato fungus, our farmers found a way around it — and maybe learned something new in the bargain. Could be just good luck, I know.  Nevertheless, I have heard from people who have their CSAs with other farms… our farm sounds pretty lucky. Luck is good. Reiki Reiki Reiki!!!!  By me, the vegetables we have gotten this year have been especially tasty – and that includes that I had forgotten about that I had
the farm on my prayer list
)

Anyway:

Here is what they say we will get

VEGETABLE SHARE

Lettuce Mix – 1/4 lb. bag
Carrots – 1 bun.
Daikon Radish or Kohlrabi – 1-3 pcs.
Leeks – 2 pcs.
Cilantro – 1 bun.
Green Kale – 1 bun.
Baby Salad Turnips – 1 bun.
Baby Bok Choi – 1 bun.
Green Tomatoes – 2-3 pcs
.

Leave a Reply

