10/1/09 CSA SHARE – What they say we will get

I could not get to a computer last week to post what we got, but this is for the day before my BIRTHDAY!!!!  Yes, I am now old enough again to celebrate my birthday (I figure that I should celebrate since one day there will be no more birthdays, and I never really thought I would get this far!  Remember, I am from the generation that thought 30 was old enough, and I certainly did live enough, and have enough experiences before I was 30, and then, again, before I was 40, and, now, heck! I live in New York City!  What else is there?  Oh, okay, each day in New York City is a new adventure, if you let yourself have it!)  My birthday present to me is going to be a notebook computer – nothing very fancy, just a serviceable one that will cost no more than half of my paycheck.

Here is what they say we will get:

Arugula – 1/2 lb. bag
Lettuce Mix – 1/2 lb. bag
Red Radishes or Baby Salad Turnips – 1 bunch 
Green Long or Bell Peppers – 1-3 pieces 
Green Beans – 3/4 lb. bag Kiddie Sized Sweet Potatoes or Russet or Yellow Potatoes – 1 1/2 lb.
Acorn Squash – 1 piece –

Cherry Tomatoes – mixed colors – 1 pint
Green Kale – 1 bunch
Broccoli or Cabbage – 1 piece

Hooray! Kale! We really like kale around here!  Squash! Yippee!  Hope I get the turnips! (radishes are okay, but… turnips are really good!)  If I get the cabbage, I am going to make sauerkraut (I just got the book Truly Cultured – fantastic info about fermenting!)

If I can get hold of a computer tomorrow or Friday, I will report what I got.

Leave a Reply

