07/30/09 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

Woohoo! The farm has stopped saying :”this is just for Tuesday”, and then not telling us what we will get on Thursday.  Yee ha!

The farm seems to think that we love lettuce
. As a lettuce-jettisoner, I must say that, when I go to the trade box, there is mostly lettuce.  I’m not the only one.


WHAT THEY SAY WE WILL GET

Purslane – 1 bun.
Green Beans – 1 bag
Lettuce Mix – 1 bag
Zucchini & Summer Squash – 2 pieces
Cucumbers – 1 – 2 pc
Green Romaine Lettuce – 1 head
Green Crisp Lettuce – 1 head
Cipollini Onions or Scallions – 1 bun.
Parsley – 1 bun.
Broccoli – 2-3 pieces for Tuesday & Wednesday only
Red Norland Potatoes – 1 bag

FRUIT SHARE
1 container Blueberries
1 container Blackberries
1 bag Peaches

MY PLANS (in case we get this stuff)

Potatoes: I will keep half, and give half to Mrs. Murphy, my neighbor-lady, who has been asking after the potatoes (I always give them to her, because she says she likes to make fried potatoes for her grandchildren.

Lettuce: I will try to trade for something else. Failing that, I will give Mrs. Murphy some lettuce.

Parsley: I will try to trade.

Green beans: I will try some new dehydrator recipes.

Zucchini/Squash: I will make a raw lasagna, and maybe make some “cannoli bites” to take for lunch on the weekend..

Cucumbers: Cucumber/Onion Salad, or maybe a raw vegan sushi

Purslane: I will keep this and put it into something, if only a smoothie.
.
Fruit: The blueberries will to into a blueberry pie or else just be blueberry jello dessert.  I will eat some of the peaches and freeze the others for smoothies.  The blackberries will go into the smoothie on Friday morning.

Sigh!  Thursday night, Friday morning early, and Friday evening are always so busy!  I am not complaining!  I love playing with my food!

One response to “07/30/09 CSA SHARE: What they say we will get

  1. Pingback: Raw.la - Raw Food in The News and Around The Web

Leave a Reply

