07/09/09 CSA SHARE: What we actually got.

Am  I feeling like an orphan?  Yes!  Do I understand the way farms work?  Pretty much – my grand-daddy was a farmer; but still…. city girl that I am…. how come?   Oh, I know the answer!   I know how farms work.  I just had to say it.  (My secret desire, now, is to find out if there is a close-by GoldenEarthwormFarm CSA –at least no more than a block from a subway line– which gets the deliveries on Tuesday…  I could go there and make my Wednesday dinner from my share!)

What I actually got: (the things that weren’t there are marked in red.
1 bunch Swiss Chard     traded for : 1 bunch kale
1 bunch Parsley
1 bunch Green Kale
1 head Broccoli
1 piece Zucchini
1 head Romaine Lettuce
1 bag Spinach
1 head Radicchio

FRUIT SHARE
1 container Blueberries
1 container Gooseberries

More lettuce!!! I will have to break down and do a green smoothie.  Okay. I went to two markets after I picked up my share, to see if I could find some apples or some bananas.  The closest market seemed very expensive and their apples were all marred and the bananas were all green, so I decided to go to the other one.  SCORE!  A nice bag of bananas!

I was excited about the kale trade because, yesterday, I went to the green market and almost bought some kale because I want to make more kale chips.  Yea!!!!  I got more kale!  Chips on the way!  Yumm!

I am excited about the radicchio!
Each previous year it has been promised, but it has never been in my box.  What is radicchio? It looks like cabbage, but it feels like lettuce!  A new adventure!

2 responses to “07/09/09 CSA SHARE: What we actually got.

  1. I’m glad you finally found a nice bag of bananas! I hate the green ones. To me radicchio is closer to lettuce. Your kale chips sound delicious!

    To Your Health!
    James Reno (editor)
    Raw-Food-Repair.com

Leave a Reply

