DINNER TONIGHT: BLT Sandwich, Jicama Cheez Fries, and Corn Salad

I worked at dinner again tonight.
I was intrigued by a BLT recipe by David Klein that I had seen, and I wanted to try that.  Then I needed some sides.  I had been wondering what all the hullabaloo about jicama fries was all about, and so I had bought a jicama (it was about the size of a baking potato), and then I made a corn salad to accompany it all.
I decided at the last minute that the fries should be cheez fries, and that the corn salad should have cheez, so I made up a batch of my cashew cheddar cheez.

BLT
1 lg lettuce leaf per pattie
1 C Brazil nuts, soaked and drained
1/2 C sun-dried tomatoes, soaked and drained
sliced tomato
sliced onion

  • In a food processor, process sun-dried tomatoes and Brazil nuts, adding water as needed to make a fine pate.
  • Form 3 patties
  • Spread a little mayonnaise on each leaf.
  • Place each pattie on a lettuce leaf (I used red leaf lettuce).
  • Top with tomato slices, and sliced onion
  • To eat, fold the leaf around the pattie and use hands to eat.


This was my first experience eating a “lettuce sandwich”.  I have steadfastly avoided doing so, and now, I know that, for me, I have been correct in avoiding them (just too messy – not my style).  The next time I make this (soon), I will use it as a thick spread on the sunflower sesame bread, as opposed to a pattie, which would ooze out,  and top it with onions, tomatoes, and sprouts.

CORN SALAD
2 C corn, sliced from cob
1 C tomatoes, chopped
1/4 C onion
1/2 C bell pepper
Chili powder to taste

  • In the food processor, process tomatoes, onion, and bell pepper to a chunky consistency.
  • In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly.

I drizzled a little cashew cheddar cheez over this salad on the plate, and mixed it in as I ate.

JICAMA FRIES
1 lg jicama, peeled and cut into fry-like strips
1 T olive oil
1/2 t sea salt
1 T chili seasoning

  • Place jicama strips in a large bowl. Add olive oil and mix well to thoroughly coat jicama strips.
  • Sprinkle in salt and chili seasoning and mix to coat jicama strips.

I found the jicama too oily, so I put it in the dehydrator for about 1/2 hr.

I served this with a glob of cheddar cheez on the plate, and dipped the fries in the cheez as I ate them.  This was my first experience with jicama, and I found it quite sweet, almost like an Asian pear.  The fries did not taste like fries to me, but my room-mate and I agreed that they were tasty.

One response to “DINNER TONIGHT: BLT Sandwich, Jicama Cheez Fries, and Corn Salad

  1. Thanks for the recipes! I’m cooking for my family next week and using the BLT idea!

Leave a Reply

