1/29/09 CSA DISTRIBUTION

I am not sure, but I think the Winter CSA Share is smaller than last year. I have heard some other people say that, too. Oh well. It still is a box of gorgeous organic vegetables. The fruit share is definitely smaller, but it still is gorgeous apples.

This week, we got:
CELERIAC: a medium-sized bulb which had already been peeled down – nice touch. I’ll julienne it up and put it in as much as I can until it is gone.

POTATOES: a lot of them. I have just about decided to give up on new potato recipes, but I have seen some “potassium broth” recipes I might try.

SWEET POTATOES: three or four – I got one really big one. I love making sweet potato dishes. Okay, I seem to do the same ones over and over again, but that is because I like them. This time, I think I will make a progressive sweet potato experiment, as I did with the potatoes, i.e., grate up a cup or two of them, put them in different bowls, and add different ingredients that appeal to me to each bowl, to see what works best.

RUTABAGAS: two or three medium-sized ones. These work like turnips for me: I like to grind them up to an applesauce consistency in the food processor, then mix them with olive oil, vinegar, and a little garlic.

CARROTS: never a big fan of carrots, other than as juice, I have been experimenting with slivering, or julienning, carrots to add to my kelp noodle dishes, and it works (Cool! Who knew I would eat carrots voluntarily!). I still can’t really go more than half a carrot to a pound of noodles and other vegetables, but, at least, the carrots are getting more attention from me now (they are supposed to be good for me, right?)

BUTTERNUT SQUASH: oh boy! More butternut squash. I am going to do a soup this week. I am ready. Although I haven’t decided whether it will have a cashew or an almond base, I do know that I am going to put Thai green curry paste in it. I have also found a version of my cashew cheese (all of my ingredients are there), which uses butternut squash, too. Must check that out.

As far as how the distribution experience went, it was another lesson in working with people. We had three volunteers, and two of them did most of the work, and one of them went around talking up the possibility of a wine share in the upcoming “summer” share. That is needed, of course, but it ended up causing traffic jams when more than two people arrived – people could not find a place to empty their boxes when other people did not move along after they had finished emptying theirs, as they listened to the wine share spiel. Bless her! The wine lady was truly inspired, and she knew her stuff.

Our only weirdness was when we were all cleaned up, packed up, and walking out the door (to make way for the Brazilian capoeira group who do not tolerate us taking even a minute of their time) and a woman showed up, over 15 minutes late, to pick up her share, which we had already divvied up among us. It was difficult for me to propel the ladies out the door into the cold, although the Brazilians were already sweeping quite literally in our footsteps (although we had already swept). I was finally able to convince them that we had to exit the space, and then we went over under a light outside and we each reached into our bags to give her some of whatever we had on the top, so she had a “sort of” share.

Then, I had a volunteer telling me that her cellphone had a different time from the time on the clock in the center. I don’t know. What I know is we go in by that clock, and we leave by that clock, and the Brazilians stand around pointing at that clock if we are not done when they think we should be. I don’t really care about Greenwich Mean Time at that point. ( I mean, when you go to work, aren’t your bosses looking at the clock on the wall, or do they ask you what time your watch, or your cellphone, says?)

So, now, we have three more pick-ups. More opportunities to learn about how people work. What an interesting and informative experience. I swear on a stack of Bibles, I have never had such curious management issues in corporate management positions, nor in my teaching gigs. It has never, ever occurred to me, when I’ve been working as a volunteer, to question what I have been told to do, disobey what I have been told to do, just plain ignore what I have been told to do (AND, the other volunteers who have worked with me have all seemed to have the same idea I have). I am ever so grateful to have had this opportunity to oversee the winter distribution. A BIG THANK YOU TO THE PEOPLE WHO LET ME DO THIS PIECE OF THE CSA WORK!!!!! Doing this work has really opened my eyes to how much is involved in starting up and managing a CSA. (most members of a CSA are never aware of all that goes into making those boxes available to them)


One response to “1/29/09 CSA DISTRIBUTION

  1. Very excited to find your very informative blog, as I’m a vegetarian who is trying out raw vegan eating, and need all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

