12/18/08 Winter CSA SHARE: what we got

In the share box, I got:
A lot of small potatoes– a lot!
6 fairly large/fat carrots
1 microscopic garlic head (about the size of two cloves of an average garlic head)
a lot of small broccoli heads with leaves
two big heads of cabbage

Everyone was commenting that they thought there was not as much in the box as last year, but I think that, weight-wise, the box was right (I carried last year’s box home on my back – this year, I got smart and took our grocery cart with me), and that it was just that there wasn’t as much variety as there was in the first box last year.

The fruit share was a bag of about 8 apples. (I think we got more apples last year). The good thing (since I am the coordinator) was that the apples came already bagged (since, for some reason, all of the CSA’s collected bags had disappeared). I remember that, last year, Liz, who was the coordinator, had to weigh all the apples and put them in bags for the members who had fruit shares. I was there but I wasn’t a volunteer, but I watched and I remember that they had something like 7lbs of apples in that first share. Oh, well. This is this year.

I signed up for two bottles of cider, so that was as expected. I just have to hurry up and drink it all, since it is fresh, and won’t last much more than a week. Yumm! I will drink some in the morning, and then again for dinner. It’s a plan.

I heard people planning cabbage/potato soup.
I think, since now I am in potato overload, I am going to go back to my old
search for a way to prepare potatoes RAW.
I found a new one today, but I don’t like it.
I am going to try the idea that I remember seeing in my early raw on-line days, which I have not been able to find again.
If/when it works, I will document it here.

Leave a Reply

