SAL ANTHONY’S THE CITY GARDENER

This afternoon, I discovered a very lovely new raw restaurant
Sal Anthony’s The City Gardener. Someone at work had dropped a menu from the place, and when I saw the word RAW, I scooped it up. Interestingly, the name of one of my students was written on it, so I was doubly intrigued.

I decided to go down to the place today, since it is just off Union Square, and today is a farmer’s market day, so I could troll for interesting vegetables.

The City Gardener is at 119 E. 17th St. btween Irving Pl. and Park Ave. South, in Manhattan. The locale is cozy, with a cafe/diner atmosphere. The front ceiling to floor glass doors are folded open onto the street in good weather lending a nice atmosphere – today was a bit cool, so I hid at table behind a shelf of dried raspberries.

I ordered the Dagwood Sun Burger because they said it was on a flat bread – my only complaint is that they should have said it was a sandwich between two crackers – let’s remember that I am the lazy chewer– I ended up eating it with a fork and knife and eating the crackers separately. The taste was fabulous. I did eat one bite of the burger cum “flat bread”, which was a very tasty experience. The burger on its own with the residue of the avocado dressing and the tomato, was scrumptious. The “bread/cracker” was equally delicious. The tastes complemented one another nicely.

While I was eating, I was surprised to see my student working there. He sent me a wonderful Lacuma Brownie” on the house. That made it taste even better. I do not usually eat dessert type foods, so it was a real treat.

On the way out, I decided to get an order of lasagna to share with my room-mate for dinner tonight. What a good idea – the lasagna was quite tasty. I want the recipe.

The prices at this cozy restaurant are highly competitive with any of the raw restaurants in town. I highly recommend you visit it soon.

Leave a Reply

