8/07/08 SHARE: What we got

This is what  we got (Wow! it is what they said we would get), and what I did with it or will do with it.

RED & PURPLE POTATOES…………..4 lbs
BASIL……………………………………  1 bunch
BABY ARUGULA……………………….1/4 lb bag
EGGPLANT  Black or Rosa Bianca…1 piece
GREEN BELL PEPPERS………………..3 pieces
RED BEET & GOLDEN BEET…………1 large pc each
GREEN ROMAINE LETTUCE…………1 small head
GARLIC………………………………..2 heads
TOMATO………………………………1 lg piece

The fruit share was:

UFO peaches ……… ..one bag
cling peaches………. one bag
yellow plums……… ..one bag

I don’t really see any difference between red plums and yellow plums. I got the yellow plums because I had never had them.  Fortunately (I guess), they just taste like regular plums.

I have some cashews, a yellow pepper, and a lemon, so I am going to make my “cheddar cheez dip” and put it on the arugula for a salad.  I may through in some of that lettuce (they say it is romaine but it doesn’t look that way to me… more like “mystery lettuce”).  I will probably throw in the last of the onions I got.

The beets may end up juiced through the Champion juicer, to form a base for smoothies, or they may go into a beet salad.  I’m not hungry now, so whatever it will be is not going to happen tonight.

The peppers will most likely find their way into smoothies.

I think I am going to make some sort of burger in the next day or so and put a basil leaf on each burger before I dehydrate it. That sounds yummy to me right now.

The garlic has been taken care of. I volunteered twice and got the garlic no one wanted (thank heavens for people who don’t like garlic).  I found myself with a pile of garlic that was going to go bad if I did not do something right away, so I peeled it all and threw it in my baby food processor (it took two go-rounds to get it all chopped fine), then put it into two jars. I filled both jars with extra virgin olive oil. In the jar that had less garlic, I put in about a  tablespoon of cayenne powder.

The tomatoes will probably wind up in smoothies, too.  There aren’t that many, and I like what they do in smoothies, since I am not a big “sweet smoothie” fan yet.

More as the days go on. Stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

