PARTY FOOD – What I took to Jose’s party on Saturday night

My friend Jose gives the best parties… lots of people, lots of music, and I don’t feel too weird being older than a lot of them. He has learned from me the art of “potluck”, and has stopped slaving away in his huge kitchen before a party – he just opens the doors to all invitees, and they come in bearing food and their libations of choice. I like my food raw (duh), so, if I prepare what I like, I am sure to have something yummy to eat, and I may have a conversation topic off and on throughout the night!

I made coleslaw (I thought that might be something new for foreigners– and it was!!!) All I do for coleslaw is toss cabbage into the food processor with some onion, and process it into oblivion– still identifiable pieces but almost not! (I am a lazy chewer), then add cayenne and mayonnaise. My mayonnaise of choice is my cashew mayonnaise https://prettysmartrawfoodideas.wordpress.com/2007/09/01/cashew-mayonnaise/

I put enough mayonnaise just to moisten — I don’t like my coleslaw soupy or gloppy. This is more of a Southern coleslaw, I think… it seems that in New York City, really sweet coleslaw is the order of the day (if you like it sweet, by all means add your sweetener of choice)

I also made, on request, my corn crackers and my sunflower seed crackers https://prettysmartrawfoodideas.wordpress.com/2008/03/06/my-two-favorite-cracker-recipes/. i didn”t have time to make cheez for the crackers, but someone had made a fabulous guacamole, so it worked out. Interestingly, because of the fine grind of my coleslaw, a lot of people put it on the crackers, to happy effect. I was happy that everyone ate all the food I had brought (even thought that meant that I would have to make more crackers soon. I was also intensely pleased that all those people from so many countries liked my coleslaw, because one of my ESL classes is having a graduation party this Friday, and I now feel confident about taking coleslaw. I think I will take some of my crackers, too (although I hate to share them – they are so good for lunch!)

Leave a Reply

