COOL NEW BOOK (for me): How We All Went Raw

A couple of years back, I saw this book, HOW WE ALL WENT RAW, and I thought it looked good (that was in the time when finding raw food books was still something kind of new to me). I was on vacation in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, and I really did not think I had enough money at the time, and the book looked good enough that I figured I could find it later (whoops! That was a NO!! I never saw it again. I went back on my next vacation and the store was “reorganized” and did not have such a lovely book section anymore. I forgot about the book.

Not too long ago, I was looking around for New York City raw food stores and I saw the book listed on one of the store sites I visited, so I put that store on my to “visit list”. Today I got to that number on the list of things to do!

Now I have this book. I went to the store and looked at the book and walked around with it for a while, and went back and looked at all the other books and then I found that I was still holding the book (I put back books that don’t seem right, so I went ahead and bought it.

We must understand that, since 1999, when I woke up to the fact that there were raw food books other than the 1970s books I had started out with in the 1970s, I have managed to collect quite a few books. Still, the memory of this book stayed with me… I seemed to have a connection with it.

Okay, now… the review. HOW WE ALL WENT RAW is a family venture and it seems to be self-published. I haven’t found it easily anywhere else other than this place in NYC. It has a number of recipes that I haven’t seen anywhere else, and, for the most part, the recipes involve only simple ingredients, i.e., not too many (one of my friends eschews recipes that have more than 4 ingredients, and I kind of do look at how many things are to go in when I am figuring out my food combinations). the recipes are simple and and look really delicious.

I’m writing this after reading half the book, without having used any of the recipes (some of them are familiar versions of things I already do), so I cannot tell you that the recipes are delicious, but they sure do look like they would turn out well.

Leave a Reply

