GOTCHA!!!! What about my CSA share while I’m on the Master Cleanse?

No, you won’t catch me sleeping (at least, not for long!)

When I started my Master Cleanse, I immediately worried about what to do with all the carrots, beets, turnips, rutabagas, radishes, garlic, celeriac, apples, and potatoes I was going to get on Thursday.  I did not worry long… I gave half of my potatoes to Mrs. Murphy, my next-door neighbor lady from Scotland, who is 79 years old and having trouble getting around — she just loves potatoes!!!   For the rest, I have a dehydrator (nyah nyah nyah nyah nyah!!!!)

I immediately went into the refrigerator and pulled out all of the beets, carrots, rutabagas, celeriac, radishes, and garlic that were still left in there from before, washed them, peeled them, cut them up, processed them to applesauce  texture, and dehydrated them… On Valentine’s Day, I got more.  Tonight I am taking care of that.  I only have some watermelon radishes left to dehydrate (I am debating whether to slice them to paper thin and dehydrate, or just process them finely.  I will probably go with the finely processed option.

Since I figured out , during the “summer CSA distribution” that I could dehydrate lettuce and mystery greens, to deal with later, and since I dehydrated  those 40 lbs. of  tomatoes in last summer, I have been a dangerous girl when facing down vegetables!!!  Now, what I cannot consume goes to the food processor post haste. (I can always  figure out what to do with it later– usually I just soak it and add it to sea vegetable salads, pates, crackers, pates.)

 So, I reckon I have dehdrated about 20 lbs. of beets (they all fit in one large ZipLoc baggie, and about 20 lbs. of carrots, (1 ziploc).  

I will give some more apples to Mrs. Murphy, and then I will dehydrate the rest , maybe making some fruit leather out or some of them, some rings out of some of them, and then powder for juices and sweetening from the rest of them. 

I need to look at dehydrating potatoes.  I have heard that soaking them will remove the starch.  I have not seen any information on dehydrating them.  I guess I will risk soaking them for 8 hours then dehydrating  them. Then I will find out if you can do that, and publish the results of my experiment.

I drink my lemonade while I am processing all these vegetables and fruit, so I don’t have the temptation to eat any of them.  I just think about possible recipes while I work.  I am excited about having a wide variety of ingredients to work with when I do get back to solid food.

Leave a Reply

