LEFTOVER SOLUTION

One of my New Year’s Resolutions will be to make sure to keep wakame on hand at all times.

Last night, I was faced with leftover “slaw” (I had two kinds: cabbage and onions with various inspired herbs and olive oil and apple cider vinegar; and cabbage with olive oil and Thai curry paste. Both kinds had been food processed to a consistency of about applesauce size pieces)

In the cabinet, I found a mostly empty packet of wakame, and was suddenly inspired. I popped the wakame in a bowl with water to the top, and waited. Then I wrung it out and threw it in a bowl with the slaws, some more inspired herb, and some more olive oil and apple cider vinegar. Amazingly, I had a winner!!!! (my non-raw room-mate asked for seconds even after the amount I had given her was half the planned meal).  I will include more wakame, and keep it on hand for when I don’t know what to make with leftovers.

This will definitely go into my bag of tricks.

Leave a Reply

