STORING FLAX SEED AND FLAX SEED CRACKERS

I have just seen this on Raw Living Foods:

  • Whole flax seeds can be stored at room temperature for at least one year.
  • Ground flax can be stored at room temperature for at least four months.
  • Storing whole or ground flax in the refrigerator or freezer prolongs freshness.
  • Whole flax seeds and ground flax are stable during storage. 

My information is slightly different:

Yes, you can store whole flax seeds at room temperature or below for up to a year.

Ground flax seeds are open to oxidation and are likely to go rancid quickly if they are not stored in the freezer (I would not take the chance. I usually grind my flax seeds as I need them.  If you  buy ground flax seeds: once the package has been opened, they should be stored in the freezer)

As far as flax seed crackers go, once they are dehydrated, you are talking about a dehydrated product.  Dehydration does extend the life of the product.  

I have kept crackers containing ground flax seed in an airtight container at room temperature for as long as 3 months with no noticeable change, but it is probably better, particularly if you might not eat them right away to  put them in an airtight container in the refrigerator

My crackers do not usually stay around much more than a week or two at the most (they are my favorite snack when I have them around). 

 

Leave a Reply

