SON OF CSA: I got into the Winter CSA

There I was all worried that I would have to start paying a lot to buy vegetables between now and next May when the CSA starts up again.  When I heard that there was a possibility of a winter share, I was there!  Local seasonal vegetables? Need I say more?

I did not really think I would get into the Winter Share: they said there were only 30 shares available, by lottery, and, by my count, on the last night of the CSA, 76 people said they wanted in.  Of course, wanting in involved sending an email and praying– the selection was to be by lottery.  Intensely cynically, I figured there were about 8 core members, and add to that their good friends, which would leave maybe 8 real lottery  slots.  Lo and behold… only 21 people applied, so everyone who wanted a piece of the action got in, including me!!!! 

Okay, it is the wrong time for this girl who lives on a shoestring….but I will pull in the belt, make presents from what is already here, forego yoga for another month….  BECAUSE the $250 I paid will bring me organic vegetables, fruit of some sort (probably apples), and raw cider once a month for the next 5 months.

 The winter share is 20 lbs of “farmer’s choice”

My share today included a whole lot  of potatoes, about 5 lbs of really big carrots, several unusual-looking  beets of different sizes, 2 big celeriac bulbs, leeks, 2 “personal-size” heads of broccoli, 1 small bunch of kale, 2 bulbs of garlic, a small head of cabbage, and several lbs of parsnips.  

Getting home with all that in my bag on my back was a challenge — the streets were slick with slush from the “snowstorm” we were supposed to have today…  I walked the LOOOOOOONG block to the subway and opted to take the N train into town, walk across the platform at Lexington, and take my R train back home (still an incredibly lucky commute, considering I was doing rush hour and toting 20 lbs of vegetables.  That way, my actual walk with the vegetables on my back was only about 1 long and 2 short blocks. (halleluia!!!!)  This is the way life works here (if you live in “car-land”, try to imagine walking 1/4 mile with 20 lbs over your shoulder and wobbling around on your back)

Leave a Reply

