11/19/07 SHARE: NO IDEA !!!

    funny… I was just talking to my mom tonight about how I have been since I was in college…. i.e., how I stay happy….

I avoid strife, I avoid negativity, and I like things I can predict (i.e., this CSA business has been low-level stressful, if you want to look at it that way.

The other day, I was talking to a Turkish man, and, when I asked him how he was doing, he proceeded with a litany of all the things he did not like about his life.  I know he owns a business, so I asked him if his business was successful… he said it was, but that he wished it would be better…. Just about everything he had to say was beaucoups negative.

So, I asked him “did the sun rise today?”… and “did you wake up alive today?”, and, “when you woke up, did all of your body parts work the way you expected?”   If he could answer even one of those, I would expect he should be happy….. but, no.

I am happy when the sun rises. I am happy when I can get up out of my bed (sometimes no small feat).  I am happy when I have a job to go to. I am happy when there is food in the refrigerator. I am happy when I can get more food to go in the refrigerator.

Let’s put it this way… I have learned to appreciate the little things.

Okay, so I wish I knew what food was coming tomorrow, but… I am happy that I have dehydrator, so I have been able to dehydrate all the stuff I could not get to between Thursday and now.

I am happy that there is a delivery tomorrow, even though I don’t know what will be in it.

Leave a Reply

