WHAT I MADE LAST NIGHT: Wakame Salad

WHAT I MADE LAST NIGHT

I had some organic wakame, an avocado, a tomato (duh), a Japanese “salad turnip” (they are on the spicy side),  and garlic, so I figured I was all set.  My room-mate is Japanese, so I was a little nervous as to how my cook-day’s effort might be received, but she apparently enjoyed it so much that tonight she tried to trump me. No problem: tomorrow night, I trump her! No doubt there will be something incredibly interesting or nice smelling that I can throw in with wakame, what I still have, and the onion I am going to buy on the way to pick up my share. Ha!

This is not an exact recipe:

A big handful of wakame, soaked 10 mins. in cold water
1/4 lg. tomato, chopped fine
1 Japanese salad turnip, finely grated in a food processor
1 avocado, chopped fine
1/4 – 1/2 t garlic, finely minced
2 capfuls apple cider vinegar
1 capful sesame oil

Toss all ingredients well.
If desired, mash some, for a creamy consistency.

BTW, my room-mate said that 3 Japanese salad turnips will run about $5.00 in a local Japanese supermarket (I asked her to pick some up), so I can see that I’ve been blessed by having a CSA share (and maybe she will share with me next year)

Leave a Reply

