CAN YOU BE FRIENDS WITH OTHER RAW FOODIES?

When you become a raw foodie, you will likely look for a community, or friends who share the same focus. Inevitably, you will run into differences in philosophy…. you may have adopted one or another philosophy, or just come into raw foods, as I did, by eating raw foods, with no specific plan.


Often, you will be expected to make a choice, or to align yourself with a particular focus.

This situation works well if you are unsure or insecure in your choice, or if you are a born follower.

Those who have their own ideas, or are happy with their own choices, often run into snags in relationships with other raw foodists.

Once people have aligned themselves with one or another camp, it can be difficult to communicate with them if you do not share their strict focus. This is because converts tend to toe a strict line themselves, and expect those around them to agree with them one-hundred percent. (Gee, is this sounding like a religious cult, or what?)

So, how do you talk to the others.???

If you join a sharing group, and your philosophy is different from that of others in the group, or from the group’s stated focus, you may feel that you can not easily share with the others of your group. That is not a very caring, sharing feeling.

Your choices are pretty slim if you do not find a group that accepts your personal philosophy. You can either change your point of view, or you can keep your mouth shut and see what you can learn. That, or you can simply not commune with other raw foodies.

I think I am probably not terribly popular when I show up at raw food groups and they ask me my opinion. The group meetings I have attended have seemed pretty much fruitarian (no root vegetables), 80/10/10, and anti-processing. I don’t have a problem with root vegetables, although I don’t eat them all the time, or even seek them out (most of the time— carrots are good for juice). In my own personal situation, 80/10/10 has too low fat and protein, and I will become sick and suffer from other issues if I follow such a regime. I have a food processor, a VitaMix, a dehydrator, a freezer, and a fabulous knife, and, what’s more, I am not afraid to use them. I once had only the knife (I love my knife). Food, for me, is more fun if I can make it into something. Don’t get me wrong… I am sure that God made food perfect, but…. God also gave me the ability to think, and the ability to rearrange things to make them more edible and/or more palatable.

I am not really willing to spend long hours or include mega-numbers of ingredients in my concoctions…. most raw food recipe books offer dishes which are far more complicated than I am willing to try, although they do offer a good read, and I often get ideas when I read them.

Nevertheless, it irks me to have people tell me that I shouldn’t do this or that. My philosophy tends to follow the Ann Wigmore raw food focus. I do not care that some people who have taken the Hippocrates Institute ideas to new places think. I am sure they do good work, but I am not sure enough that their changes are any improvement on the original idea to change my ways.

Before I found the Internet, I was a raw foodie group of one, for more than 20 years. You’d’ve thought that, in a big place like New York City, I might have found a group of like-minded people. Unfortunately, the first (and best) group that I found on the Internet, which, from its inception, as the first raw food group, was very open to all comers and all ideas, has degenerated into a one-pony show (I have hopes that it will change back, and I may try to nudge it, myself, if I have time) In New York City, there is pretty much only one option (weird, huh? you would think this place would be more active, wouldn’t you?) Unfortunately, that group is very socked in to the 80/10/10 philosophy to the point of vocally excluding any other concepts.

I’ve been American all my life. (Americans get to choose, where there are no laws to prevent such choices.) I grew up in raw foods before there were people to tell me what I must and must not do (aside from in the event of illness). I am not looking for a new religion, or any guru. I am perfectly capable of reading all of the concepts, and making my own decisions as to how the raw food concept should be applied in my life.

Oh, yes. I forgot to mention that I am a nutritionist. I do know something about the field….

So, all of this means that I will have to be extremely grateful to any raw foodie who is willing to be my raw foodie friend, and fly in the face of the accepted ideas, or at least listen to my ideas, while I listen to theirs.

3 responses to “CAN YOU BE FRIENDS WITH OTHER RAW FOODIES?

  1. I agree with you 100%. People should not push their religion on someone else and they should not push their food system onto someone else either. Listen and learn, perhaps lay out some scientifically researched facts… but don’t judge.

  2. The person who told you he could “chew better” and would now eat raw foods again is an….well, I won’t give you the word. People who can’t chew may be luckier than they think, since they can drink smoothies. Okay, it sadly isn’t good for their teeth and jaws if they can’t chew, but the nutrition that they will get out of raw smoothies is FAR healthier than anything that they could possibly chew. I was a raw (chewing) foodist who switched to daily smoothies about a month ago. Yes, I do chew non-blended foods every night, but I whip up about 6 cups of smoothie every morning (as much as my high-speed blender can hold!) and it is SO incredibly filling that I have a hard time finishing it by dinner time (and the green smoothies always have less than 150 calories!).
    It has done wonders for my health and weight, and I have lost the cravings that I had previously, even though I was eating a “healthy” raw diet. I’m eating far less nuts, fats and “dehydrated” foods which are not as healthy as fresh veggies before any heating.
    A couple of smoothie ideas: 8 oz tomatoes mixed with 8 oz of various mixed greens (lettuce, kale, chard, parsley, asparagus, squash, dandelion leaves, beets, etc.) and a couple of ounces of whole peeled lemon. Add salt, pepper, onion, garlic and other spices to taste. Add about 2 cups of water. Blend well and enjoy. Keep refrigerated throughout the day.
    Or, mix 8 oz of fruit with an equal amount of mixed greens (I generally use berries in summer, apples and/or bananas in winter) and sweeten to taste. This one tastes better blended with 2 cups of mixed ice and water.
    The effects on my energy, complexion and weight have been dramatic and immediate. You might want to read “Green for Life” by Victoria Boutenko and a host of other books on the subject. Shame on the person that said “if you can’t chew, you can’t eat raw”!

  3. I do know that, if you can’t chew, you can still eat raw. In fact, I find it is easier to eat raw than to eat cooked (for sure, it is harder to eat meat if you are chewing challenged – it requires serious chewing,and it sticks between your teeth) I am, and have always been, a lazy chewer (when I was a kid, I did not especially like corn on the cob because it gets all over your face and it gets in your braces, and when you have your teeth straight, it gets stuck in them (there’s no winning with this stuff) I do like fresh corn, and I know how to get it off the cob without cutting off a finger.
    Owing to life experiences, I am now chewing challenged, but, fortunately, since I was always a lazy chewer, things have not changed much… I chop things fine and they suit my taste.
    Having a VitaMix, a food processor, and a Champion juicer at my disposal has made my life a joy! (I used to have to chop chop chop and chop some more — really good when I was angry – I could make a pate really quickly!)

Leave a Reply

