BEET RECIPES: for the raw in you

Here are three raw vegan recipes for beets

MY FAMOUS BEET SALAD
I love this recipe and eagerly wait for beets in my CSA share!  It has the taste of a Southern-style beet salad, is quick and easy to prepare, lasts for at least a week in the refrigerator, and is easy to chew.  Best of all, whenever I prepare it, people ask for more.  I usually take it to parties because I know that people will like it and become curious about raw vegan food.  (Last year, I made it for a cooking demo, and some people who said they hated beets tried it at my urging, and asked for more!)

1-1/2 beets (I had a big one and a small one about 1/2 the size)
1/4 onion
1 T apple cider vinegar (or more to taste, for sweetness)

* Finely grind the beets and the onion in a food processor.
* Add apple cider vinegar and mix well.
EAT

NOTE: You can eat this as is (it is about the consistency of a coarse apple sauce) or
you can use it as part of a salad, or wrap it in a leaf, if it is dry enough.  I have even used it as an ingredient for raw sushi.

•    You substitute turnips, or even combine beets, turnips, and maybe carrots.
•    If you fancy, you could add herbs or garlic.

SOUTHERN PICKLED BEETS
I’m calling this Southern because I grew up in the South, and that’s where I know it from, and I haven’t ever seen anything like it here in Yankee Territory.

2 lg beets, peeled and very thinly sliced
1/2 onion, very thinly sliced
2 T apple cider vinegar
1 T extra virgin olive oil (optional- I just like olive oil in almost everything)
salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and marinate for at least one hour. (The longer the beets marinate, the softer they will be)

VARIATIONS:   I have made this with a combination of beets and radishes, and I have also substituted turnips for half the beets.

BEET/CABBAGE/CARROT/APPLE SALAD
2 beets, peeled and grated
1/2 lg head of cabbage, shredded
3 carrots, peeled and grated
1 C of raisins
1 apple, diced
1/4 C lemon juice
1/4 C oil
1/4 C water

* Mix all ingredients thoroughly.

NOTE: This is from my Passover recipe collection.  It is a delightfully different take on a traditional salad.

4 responses to “BEET RECIPES: for the raw in you

  1. Pingback: PRETTY SMART RAW FOOD IDEAS

  2. Pingback: 12/2/10 CSA SHARE: this is the last one for the year | PRETTY SMART RAW FOOD IDEAS

  3. I love to exepriment with the beet. I have a pulp and use it for crackers. Have you ever try to ferment mixed beet, veggies, apple pulp? I will do it now…..with the salt and under the press. Will talk to you later: is it waste or fine. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

