PARSNIP RECIPES

I still have a lot of dehydrated parsnip, so this one looked good. I added a little grated onion and garlic.

PARSNIP-AVOCADO SOUP
based on a recipe found on chidiet.net blog

1  lg parsnip
1/2 C water or celery juice
1  lg stalk celery, peeled
1/4  avocado
2  t flaxseed oil
1  squeeze lemon juice
1/2  t sea salt (to taste)
dried parsley (optional, for garnish)

  • Process parsnip in food processor to a fine grated texture.
  • Peel celery.
  • Cut up avocado.
  • In a VitaMix, process parsnip, water (or celery juice), oil, and lemon juice until smooth.
  • Add remaining ingredients, and continue processing until smooth.
  • If desired, garnish with a sprinkle of parsley

PARSNIP “RICE”
Parsnips were new to me last year.  I had no clue what to do with them.  I saw one recipe using them for “sushi rice”, but that was about it.  Finally, since they are root vegetables,  I decided to do what I do with beets and turnips….

I grated  and mixed them with olive oil once, and then I grated them and mixed them with apple cider vinegar and a little garlic.  The olive oil version is more like rice, but I like the vinegar version best.

I can do this recipe with fresh parsnips or soaked dehydrated parsnips. 

One response to “PARSNIP RECIPES

  1. I made this tonight with about 1/3 C dried parsnips, 1/4 avocado, 1/3 of a small celeriac, no salt, 2 dashes of Tabasco, a dash of garlic powder.
    I thought it was yummy – I will make it this way again. I might even sprinkle in some pepper or add 1 T grated onion.

Leave a Reply

